Upcoming Events

No upcoming events
V&D Mixed Champions

Information in this section was compiled by Dr. John Aveline.

Some of the most popular events are the mixed events.  There are currently four mixed V&D events, which always have had a strong entry; Mixed Pairs, Mixed Fours, Nicholson Pairs and the President's Cup (which technically is an open event).

Mixed Pairs

2016  Glen & Darlene Vachon (North Burnaby)

2015  Cary Manns, Bonnie Smith (North Vancouver)

2014   Harry Carruthers, Bonnie Smith (North Vancouver)

2013   Chester Yeung, Anita Lee  (Richmond)

2012   Paul Lee, Sandy Yau  (Richmond)

2011   Paul Choi, Lorraine Choi  (Richmond)

2010   Steve Santana, Belle Chan   (Vancouver South)

2009   Stanley Chow, Rita Patterson   (Richmond, Granville Park)

2008   Perry Manns, Alice Duncalf   (North Van / Van South)

2007   John Moffat, Pat Aarvold   (North Vancouver)

2006   Perry Manns, Loreen Manns   (North Vancouver)


2004   Malcolm Taylor, Marie Taylor   (North Vancouver)

2003   Mel Eccles, Diane Fulton   (Vancouver South)

2002   Hiren Bhartu, Mary Ann Gillies   (Vancouver South)

2001   C.P. Au, On-Kow Au   (Richmond)

2000   Roddy MacDonald, Barb Gandy   (North Vancouver)

1999   Jim Murphy, Juanita Tucker   (Vancouver South)

1998   Perry Manns, Loreen Manns   (North Vancouver)

1997   Mel Eccles, Allie Eccles   (Vancouver South)

1996   Rod Banning, Betty Leon   (Burnaby North)

1995   Ted Waterston, Brenda McFadyen   (New Westminster)


Mixed Fours

2016   Stanley Chow, Janes Chen, Anita Lee, Alice Lam (Richmond)

2015   Chester Yeung, Stanley Chow, Rainbow Lung, Lisa Cheung  (Richmond)

2014   Jeff Law, Kelvin Lai, Gigi Chan, Sarina Mak (Richmond)

2013   Vince Mai, Kenneth Lee, Man Ying Lee, Tracy Chan (Vancouver South)


2011   John Harvey, Nell Smitheringale, Pat Aarvold, John Karpa  (North Vancouver)

2010   Joe DeBruin, Karin Rees, Sidney Hope, John Karpa   (North Vancouver)

2009   Peter Moffat, Perry Manns, Lorene Manns, Bonnie Smith   (North Vancouver)

2008   Peter Moffat, Perry Manns, Nannely Lawson, Bonnie Smith   (North Vancouver)

2007   Hiren Bhartu, Alice Duncalf, Malcolm Taylor, Marie Taylor   (New West,
           Van South, North Van, North Van)

2006   Vince Mai, Bruce Matheson, Alice Duncalf, Jennifer Butler   (Granville, Langley
           Vancouver South, Granville)



2003   Jim Murphy, Jim Logan Sr, Joyce Logan, Juanita Tucker   (Vancouver South)

2002   Jim Logan Sr, Jim Murphy, Marg Duvarney, Joyce Schisler   (Vancouver South,
           White Rock)

2001   Dave Brown, Bob Gandy, Barb Gandy, Pat Aarvold   (North Vancouver)

2000   Paul Choi, Kion Wong, Amy Au, Lorraine Choi   (Richmond)

1999   S.C. Pak, Ming Leung, Janet Wong, Hilda Leung   (Granville Park)

1998   Steve Forrest, Robin Forrest, Gordon Cutting, Dot Charleston   (Stanley Park)

1997   Michael Christ, Brian Goddard, Maureen Christ, Marva Goddard   (New

Nicholson Mixed Pairs

2016   Karen Rees, Clement Law (North Vancouver)

2015   Gary Clarke, Dorothy Clarke (Coquitlam)

2014   Jack Green & Cathy Selzler (Kerrisdale)

2013   Joe DeBruin, Belle Chan  (North Van, Van South)

2012   Gary Kirk, Vivian Chan  (Richmond)

2011   Steve Santana, Belle Chan  (Vancouver South)

2010   Laurence Leedham, Lynn Leedham   (North Vancouver)

2009   Paul Lee, Cecilia Chui   (Richmond)

2007-2008 Unavailable 

2006    Fred Wheeler, Sandra Wheeler (North Vancouver)

2005  Unavailable  

2004   Malcolm Taylor, Marie Taylor   (North Vancouver)

2003   German Santana, Myrle Lawrence   (Vancouver South / West Vancouver)

2002   Elaine Dipalo, Jim Dipalo   (Maple Ridge)

2001   Jim Logan Sr, Joyce Schisler   (Vancouver South)

2000   John Aveline, Lily Lo   (Granville Park)

1999   Ken Jones, Jenny Jones   (Coquitlam)

1998   Alice Duncalf, Dave Duncalf   (Vancouver South)

1997   Bob Scott, Cathie Higgins   (Vancouver South)


1995   Ted Waterston, Brenda McFadyen   (New Westminster)

President's Cup

    The President's Cup was revived in 2010 after a number of years on hiatus.  Originally, the event was called the Executive Fours.  Each club could enter one team which was made up of members of the club's executive.  This was a men's event (clubs did not amalgamate until the early 1990's) and the club president had to skip the team.  After clubs women's and men's sections amalgamated, a club's team had to be mixed and the requirement that the club president had to skip was relaxed.  The event ceased to be held due to lack of interest. 

    In 2010 Tony Boucher of Granville Park suggested that the event might be revived as a way of the V&D to acknowledge and thank some of the people who volunteer to help run their clubs.  This led to the rebirth of this event in a slightly changed form and with a new name: The President's Cup.

    Teams are still made up from club executives and a club may only have one team, but the gender make-up of the team is unrestricted.  A team may have four men, four women or anything in between.  On the other hand, at least two of the team must be table officers (president, vice-president, treasurer, secretary, past president).  Also, while the original purpose of the event was to give the club executives their own event, the purpose of the President's Cup is thank club volunteers who serve on their club boards (the $20.00 entry fee is paid by the club and a lunch is provided).  The President's Cup also gives club executives a chance to get together on the greens, rather than around the board table, and exchange ideas and thoughts of mutual interest regarding the Sport of Bowls.  Currently the format is 3 10-end games.

 President's Cup Champions




 Granville Park Sharon Cowie, Peter Cheong, Alistair Black, Pat Tolhurst
 West Point Grey
 Richmond Peter Lee, Anita Lee, Chester Yeung, Gordon Oikawa
 2013 Richmond Chester Yeung, Willie Wu, Peter Lee, Anita Lee
 2012 Granville Park Juanita Tucker, Sharon Cowie, Alistair Black, Alan Webster
 2011 Kerrisdale Barrie Brown, Dave Arnott, Ron Leyland, Joyce Bolleman
 2010 West Point Grey Frank Kaweski, Bill Parker, Elaine Rolston, Cathleen Rowlette